About the State Board of Land Commissioners and State Loan and Investment Board

The State Board of Land Commissioners (SBLC) was constitutionally created in 1890; the State Loan and Investment Board (SLIB) was statutorily created in 1921.  Both boards are composed of the Governor, Secretary of State, State Auditor, State Treasurer, and Superintendent of Public Instruction.

When Wyoming became a state on July 10, 1890, the federal government granted approximately 4.2 million acres of land to the State of Wyoming.  The law requires state land be held in trust to produce income to support public schools and other state institutions named in the original grants.

The Wyoming State Constitution and the Wyoming State Legislature direct the Board of Land Commissioners to manage trust assets for two key purposes consistent with traditional trust principles: (1) long-term growth in value, and (2) optimum, sustainable revenue production.

The State Loan and Investment Board manages the permanent land funds. The State Loan and Investment Board also administers various statutorily created grant and loan programs that provide funding/finance assistance in the form of grants and/or loans to cities, towns and counties.

The Wyoming Office of State Lands & Investments serves as the administrative arm for the boards and carries out the policy directives and decisions of these boards.  Schedules, agendas, and matters for current and past meetings of both boards can be viewed on their respective pages.

Home  >  Boards